John Coffee was one of the founders of the AVA and the first editor of our monthly publication THE FARE BOX for almost 60 years. He died on May 8, 2012 and the AVA created a Scholarship in his name at Emerson College where he was a tenured professor of History. 
The AVA created a 10 year scholarship to commemorate his efforts and benefit students at the University he loved so much.
The winners of the scholarship were;

2013-2014 Frankie Olito
Jaqueline Pauley
2014-2015Anna Cleslik
Lauren Holt
2015-2016Taylor Kiss
2016-2017Mary Nicora
2017-2018Mary Nicora
2018-2019Tyler Robichaud